Jazz is improvisation. Improvisation is jazz. With the "Hidden Sessions", the Festival da Jazz 2024 is launching a new, small but fine format in which improvisation takes center stage. Not by the musicians, but by the audience!

 

By Festival da Jazz
10.6.24

Curious?

Here you can register for the "Hidden Sessions" News Alert via Whatsapp. Either click directly or scan the QR code below
Please note: Information about these concerts will only be communicated on this channel. Ready for a little improvisation? We look forward to seeing you.
QR-Code for whatsapp news alert 

QR Code The Hidden Sessions

All jazz cats would agree: Improvisation is one of the cornerstones of the entire genre. The players flourish in the free invention of familiar patterns. Evening after evening, the music is performed slightly differently, spiced up a little. In this way, an existing basic mood can be steered in unforeseen directions. Of course, we often experience such moments at the Festival da Jazz. 

Now we want to add another dimension to improvisation in the jazz world. For once, we want the audience to show the courage and will to improvise. No, don't worry, we're not forcing anyone to play saxophone solos. We already have enough of those. But we are presenting "The Hidden Sessions" as a wonderful premiere at the Festival da Jazz 2024. 

The idea: interested festival guests can subscribe to a news alert (Whatsapp). This will be used during the festival to inform you at very short notice about one of the hidden concerts in the "Hidden Sessions". Then it's time to hurry. 

You read that right! - This year there are actually several concerts that are not on our program overview. Artists who probably appear on our regular program are playing another showcase, at short notice and almost guerrilla-like in and around St. Moritz. Dana Masters in an underpass? Marcus Miller in a spa? The Jazzrausch Bigband in an elevator? You won't find out from us. At least not yet...

Jazz ist Improvisation. Improvisation ist Jazz. Mit den «Hidden Sessions» lanciert das Festival da Jazz 2024 ein neues, kleines aber feines Format, bei welchem Improvisation im Zentrum steht. Nicht von den Musikerinnen und Musikern, sondern vom Publikum!

 

Von Festival da Jazz
10.6.24

Interessiert?

Hier können Sie sich für den «Hidden Sessions» News Alert über Whatsapp anmelden. Entweder direkt klicken oder unten QR Code scannen.
Achtung: Die Infos zu diesen Konzerten werden wirklich nur auf diesem Weg kommuniziert. Bereit für ein wenig Improvisation? Wir freuen uns auf Sie.
QR-Code scannen für Whatsapp News Alert 

QR Code The Hidden Sessions

Alle Jazz-Cats würden beipflichten: Improvisation gehört zu den Grundpfeilern des gesamten Genres. Im freien Erfinden entlang von bekannten Mustern blühen die Spielenden auf. Abend für Abend wird die Musik leicht verändert dargebracht, etwas anders gewürzt. Eine vorhandene Grundstimmung kann derart in unvorhergesehene Bahnen gelenkt werden. Natürlich erleben wir solche Momente oft und gern am Festival da Jazz. 

 

Nun wollen wir die Improvisation im Dunstkreis des Jazz um eine weitere Dimension erweitern. Für einmal soll nämlich das Publikum den Mut und Willen zur Improvisation beweisen. Nein, keine Angst, wir zwingen niemanden zu Saxophon-Solos. Davon haben wir bereits genug. Aber wir präsentieren «The Hidden Sessions» als wundervolle Premiere am Festival da Jazz 2024

Erste Hidden Session mit Känzig&Känzig im Video
Zweite Hidden Session mit José James im Video

 

Die Idee: Interessierte Festivalgäste können einen News Alert (Whatsapp) abonnieren. Über diesen wird während dem Festival sehr kurzfristig über eines der versteckten Konzerte der «Hidden Sessions» hingewiesen. Dann heisst es sich sputen. 

 

Richtig gelesen! – Dieses Jahr gibt es tatsächlich mehrere Konzerte, welche nicht auf unserer Programmübersicht zu finden sind. Künstlerinnen und Künstler, welche wohl auf unserem regulären Programm auftauchen, spielen ein weiteres Showcase, kurzfristig und fast schon etwas Guerilla-mässig in und um St. Moritz. Dana Masters in einer Unterführung? Marcus Miller im Spa? Die Jazzrausch Bigband in einem Aufzug? Von uns erfahren Sie es nicht. Zumindest noch nicht…